How Long are Plan Checks and Permits Valid?

Plan Checks

Plan Checks are good for 6 months or 180 days. If you will be going passed the 6 month period, you will still be eligible for (2) - 90 day extensions ($82 each extension). (Municipal Code Section 15.18.050. Subsection 105.3.2)

Plan checks for development projects where permits have expired for a period of less than one year shall be assessed a fee equal to half of the amount of the applicable plan check fee, as set forth in the resolution establishing said fee, if the plans that are being resubmitted are identical to the prior plans. Said fee shall be paid when the plans are re-submitted for review by the building official.

Issued Permits

105.5 Expiration. Every permit issued by the building official under the provisions of the technical codes shall expire by limitation and become null and void, if the building or work authorized by such permit is not completed through final inspection within the allowed time from the date of issuance of such permit, which time shall be as follows: up to 5,000 square feet, 18 months; 5,000 to 10,000 square feet, 24 months; over 10,000 square feet, 30 months. For good cause, upon initial application for a permit, the building official may establish a different expiration date when it is anticipated such date will be necessary to complete construction due to extenuating circumstances. Upon expiration, before work under the permit can be recommenced, a new permit shall be obtained. Such new permit shall be valid for 24 months, and the fee therefore shall be one half the amount required for a new permit for such work, if no changes have been made or will be made in the original plans and specifications for the work and not more than one year has passed since the expiration of the permit; otherwise, such new permit shall be subject to all terms and conditions applicable to new permits.

Show All Answers

1. When is the new 2022 California Building Standards Code effective?
2. Construction Rules, Hours, and Holidays
3. Violations and Penalties
4. If my project was permitted under the 2019 California Building Standards Code and I need to revise my approved plans, which edition of the codes will be applicable?
5. My Permit has expired. What's next?
6. Who do I call if my building is in the unincorporated area, not the Rancho Palos Verdes?
7. Legalize Unpermitted Work
8. When Do I Need a Demolition Permit?
9. Where can I find the original plans for my house?
10. What is the California Building Standards Code?
11. Why do I need a building permit?
12. Can I apply for a permit online?
13. When are permits needed?
14. Can plan check be done over the counter?
15. What type of building inspections are required?
16. Do I need Sanitation District or septic tank approval for my plans?
17. How can I check my permit Inspection results?
18. Emergency repairs without a permit?
19. How do I contact a Building Inspector?
20. Work exempt from permit's?
21. How do I schedule inspections?
22. Do you have plans of my home?
23. Does my contractor need a license?
24. Do all building permits need inspections?
25. Can I view the permit history of a property online?
26. What If I begin work without a permit?
27. Who owns a permit?
28. EV Chargers FAQ
29. Do all permits need a "Final" inspection?
30. Who do I contact about plan check review comments?
31. How long does a plan check take?
32. What do you do if you need to Abandon a Septic Tank?
33. Does my retaining wall need a permit?
34. Do you have Geology/ Tract Files? Can they be emailed?
35. How much will my building permit cost?
36. Do field changes (modifications to approved plans) need to be approved?
37. Do I need to hire someone to draw my plans for me?
38. Can I live in my garage?
39. Can I perform work as owner/builder on my commercial property?
40. How do I check on the plan review status of my permit?
41. Can I do the work myself or do I have to hire a contractor?
42. Can I be my own General Contractor or Owner/Builder?
43. Why are all contractors (the electrician, the plumber, the general contractor, etc.) required to be licensed in the City?
44. What is the maximum window U-factor and SHGC (solar heat gain coefficient)?
45. Do I need a permit to replace my driveway or sidewalk or to add Hardscaping?
46. What are setbacks for a property?
47. Why am I being subjected to enforcement when my neighbors are doing the same thing?
48. How do I make a Code Enforcement complaint?
49. How can i find out where my property line is located?
50. How do I legalize an addition or dwelling unit built without permits?
51. How do I get a permit to have a dumpster on the street for my construction debris?
52. How Long are Plan Checks and Permits Valid?
53. How do I expedite a plan check?
54. When may I start building?
55. How can I get a Certificate of Occupancy (C of O)?
56. Do I need a permit for a storage shed, playhouse, etc.?