Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
Show All Answers
Any dead animals on private property may be picked up at the expense of the property owner. For any dead animals inside or under a private home, a private company in the telephone book must be contacted for assistance.
Dog licenses are available at the County Animal Shelter / Care Center at 216 West Victoria Avenue in Carson, by calling 562-345-0400 or by downloading the application online from the county’s website. The city and county host an annual dog licensing and rabies clinic generally in June at the Rancho Palos Verdes City Hall.
Whether we are in our homes, offices, schools, or places of entertainment, we
take for granted the fact that the structures that surround us are safe. What
we usually don't think about is that most aspects of building construction -
framing, wiring, heating, and plumbing facilities - represent a potential
hazard to building occupants and users.
Building codes strive to reduce risks to an acceptable level. Building
inspections provide the means to verify that the codes have been followed.
The building permit is the link between the two. The permit and inspections
ensure that your personal safety is protected and that your investment in your
home also is protected.
The County of Los Angeles Building Code requires that building plans be retained for a minimum of 90 days from the date of completion of the work covered on the plans. After 90 days, residential plans are typically discarded. The space required to store plans for every house built in the unincorporated county areas makes it prohibitive to keep them. One possible option for finding the as-built plans for any structure is to contact the original builder, designer, and/or engineer. This information can typically be found on the original building permit.
A: The California Building Standards Code (CBSC) is maintained by the California Building Standards Commission (www.bsc.ca.gov) and contains the codes and laws that regulate the construction of all buildings and structures in the State of California. The CBSC is Title 24 of the California Code of Regulations (CCR) and consists of twelve parts: Five (5) parts are authored by the State of California and seven (7) parts are based on model codes that are authored by various model code writing bodies.
The new 2022 California Building Standards Code includes:
The new 2022 California Building Standards Code will become effective January 1, 2023. All Over-the-Counter permits issued after January 1, 2023, must comply with the new 2022 California Building Standards Codes. All projects submitted for plan check to the Building Division after January 1, 2023, must comply with the new 2022 California Building Standards Code.
It depends on the type of revisions being made. A simple minor clarification will not necessitate the need to revise the plans to comply with the new 2022 California Building Standards Code. A major change and/or addition to a project will need to comply with the new 2022 California Building Standards Code. Each specific case will need to be reviewed by the Building Department to determine which edition of the California Building Standards Code the revisions must comply with.
Building or installing:
Any structure, or part of a structure, or any other changes that affect the structure of any building, even an accessory building, on your property.
For commercial and industrial and exterior property owners, permits are also required for tenant improvements such as interior and exterior partitions, kitchen and dining room changes, installation of disabled access features, changes of use, signs and after-hours permits for doing work outside of specified times and dates.
Yes! All permits can be applied for online. Smaller permits can be applied
for through our eTrakit - Over the Counter Permitting Portal .These smaller permits
include: Electrical permits, HVAC, Solar, Electrical Panel Upgrades,
Re-Roofs, Plumbing permits, Water Heater* permits (*May need planning
approval prior to B&S Issuance*), etc.
-Kitchen and Bathroom Remodels, Exterior Door, Window & Skylight
Changeouts, ESS, etc can also be submitted for online “over-the-counter”
review when submitted to Buildingsafety@rpvca.gov .
-Any other reviews must be uploaded onto our online portal.
The Building Department only does non-structural plan check over the
counter. This includes Kitchen Remodels, Bathroom Remodels, and Solar
Plans. Solar Plans can be expedited through our
ETrakit-Online-Permitting-Portal . Kitchen and Bathroom Remodels can
also be submitted for online as an “over-the-counter” review when submitted to
BuildingSafety@rpvca.gov . Any other major type of reviews must be uploaded onto
our online portal. Online-Plan-Check-Portal
• Foundation Inspection: When the excavation for footings is complete and footing forms and required reinforcing steel and structural embedment are in place, but before any concrete is placed. (Also needed are separate underground electrical, plumbing and mechanical inspections).
• Exterior Shear inspection: When all exterior sheer elements are in place & correctly nailed, all required hardware (straps, clips, holdowns, ties & caps) are installed.
• Roof Sheathing Inspection: When all roof framing members are installed and the plywood or other sheathing is complete along with any required strapping.
• Wood Framing Inspection: When all roof, walls and floor framing, fire blocking, draft stopping and all pipes, chimney, vents and duct work are in place, but before any work is covered. Wood framing inspection will not be approved until rough mechanical, electrical, and plumbing inspections are completed.
• Insulation Inspection: When all thermal insulation is in place but before it is concealed. Inspect state energy requirements stated on the approved plans.
• Lath and/or Gypsum Board Inspection: After all lath and gypsum board is in place but before any stucco is applied, or before gypsum board joints and fasteners are taped and finished.
• Reinforced Masonry Inspection: In grouted masonry before any units are laid up, all steel must be tied and in place ready for concrete foundation pour. Grout inspection is required after units are laid. Final inspection is required after cells are grouted and cap is installed.
• Structural Steel Inspection: When structural steel members are in place and required connections are complete but before concealing any members or connections. Certificates of Compliance are to be given to the City Inspector.
• Re-roof Inspection: Sheathing inspection and building final inspection.
• Underground: After conduit or cable has been installed in trench but not covered.
• Rough wiring: Before any part of the work is concealed and prior to framing inspection. Telephone, television, intercom, security, doorbell and thermostat cable need to be in place for rough inspection. Compliance with Title 24 Requirements for Residential Lighting is checked.
• Final: When all fixtures, appliances, and systems are in place and connected.
• Underground or sub-floor plumbing: After material has been installed and tested, including sewer. Sewer Cap, is inspected for demolition projects.
• Rough plumbing: Before any part of the work is concealed (including shower pan hot mop), prior to framing inspection and after roofing is installed.
• Gas piping test: After lath or gypsum board has been installed.
• Shower pan.
• Final: After all fixtures are in place and connected.
Heating, Ventilating and Air Conditioning Inspections:
• Underground/Sub-floor duct inspection.
• Rough: Before any part of the work is concealed, metal fireplace rough, prior to framing inspection and after roofing is installed.
• Final: All appliances and equipment are in place and connected (Performance test may be required).
• Call for final inspection when the construction has been completed.
• All external surfaces must be painted, or otherwise sealed, weather-stripping must be installed on all new windows and doors, and all electrical or plumbing fixtures have been installed. Interior painting, wallpapering, or carpeting need not be complete.
• Smoke & Carbon Monoxide alarms must be installed as required by the latest edition of the California Residential Code.
Your job card will have information on whether the permit is finaled, as
well as the inspections you have passed. If the job card was not present at
the time of the inspection, however the inspector passed the final
inspection, you can check online by creating an account and searching using Permit Inspection Search feature. or by emailing staff with your request at
When equipment replacements and repairs must be performed in an emergency situation, the permit application shall be submitted within the next working business day to the Building & Safety Department.
Some types of repairs are exempt, and some aren't.
A common statement heard at the counter after one has received a Stop Work notice is: “I was only doing repairs, and my contractor told me repairs don’t require a permit.” While we are sure that your contractor means well, he may not know RPV's code's. It is always better to check with us before you begin work. MOST COMMON TYPE'S OF WORK EXEMPT FROM PERMIT'S can be viewed by clicking here.
Building Inspectors are in the field performing inspections for the majority of the day and are only present in the office for a short window of time each day. They can be reached at the Building Counter and by phone or email between the hours of 7:30 am - 9 am. or 4:30 pm to 5:30 pm. Call 310-544-5280 and request to speak to an inspector. You can also reach them by email using the following information listed below:
Desirea Molina: DesireaM@rpvca.gov
Erick Monsivaiz: EMonsivaiz@rpvca.gov
Once your permit is issued, you will need to schedule periodic inspections.
Please be aware that inspections are a First-Come-First-Serve Basis. There is a
limited number of stops allowed per day. If you want a better chance of
getting the date you prefer, we recommend you schedule in advance.
Inspection requests should be made online at Rpvca.gov/inspections or by phone at 310-544-5279. Please provide the following information:
All inspections are performed between 9 am-12 pm (AM) and 1 pm-4:30 pm (PM).
Most likely no. We only are required to retain plans per the Rancho Palos
Verdes Municipal Code for up to two years after the permit has been
finalled. We do however maintain building permit records for residential,
commercial and industrial construction. please contact the Los Angeles County Assessor for original plans.
California State Contractors License
In California, anyone who contracts to perform work that is valued at $500 or
more for materials and labor must hold a current, valid license from the
Contractors State License Board. Non Licensed individuals can be hired on an
hourly basis by homeowners, but not for fixed fee. You can check on
contractor's licenses and obtain valuable information for your project at the
Rancho Palos Verdes Business License
Anyone who does business in Rancho Palos Verdes is required to have a
current City of Rancho Palos Verdes Business License, including contractors
and subcontractors. To obtain a business license, please contact the Business
License Cashier at 310-544-5301 or BusinessLicense@RpvCa.Gov or check the website at https://www.rpvca.gov/288/Business-License-Information
Yes. After your permit is issued, a series of inspection will be required.
Depending on the scope of your project, inspections may be required for
foundation, framing, plumbing, electrical and similar work. The City requires
a final inspection on all building permits.
Yes, some files can be seen through our permitting program. Please visit
the following website: RPV- Permit Records Search .
Additionally, to request multiple records from different departments
regarding a certain address, you can do a Public Records Request with
the City Clerk’s Office. They can be reached with the following email:
For More Information Please visit the City Clerk Website:
If you begin work without the required permit, a "Stop Work Order" will
immediately be issued by the Building Official, Building Inspector or Code
Enforcement Officer. You will be required to apply for the permit and pay
triple the original permit fee. After the permit has been properly issued, you
will be required to uncover any work which has been covered so that it may
be properly inspected. In some cases, regulations may not permit the type of
construction that has been done. If this happens, you may be required to
replace or restore the area to its original condition prior to your construction.
A building permit belongs to the property owner. The contractor acts as
an agent of the owner and shall give the original permit card to the
Yes. All work completed under a building permit issued by the City of Rancho
Palos Verdes must pass a "final inspection" by the Building Official or Building
Inspector. Even though a contractor may have taken out a building permit for
a property owner, it is ultimately the responsibility of the property owner to
see that a final inspection is attained for each building permit. Failure to have
a final inspection could result in withholding issuance of any future permits.
According to City Code, the building official shall not issue a permit until all
expired building permits have been finally approved and all work originally
done without permits has been covered by a building permit, inspected and
All inquiries/questions about a review should be directed by email at email@example.com or call the Plan Checkers office at 909-595-8599 EXT # 159
Residential, commercial and industrial plan reviews typically takes a few
weeks. We will contact the applicant as soon as the plans have been
processed. 1st Submittals generally take up to 3 weeks, whilst
resubmittals/revisions take up to 2 weeks. If your plan check has taken
longer, please inquire to Buildingsafety@rpvca.gov
When a septic tank is no longer used because of an alternate connection to city sewer, the tank must be properly abandoned or removed. This applies to old cesspools, leaching pits, dry wells, seepage pits, vault privies, and pit privies. Access for future uses must be permanently denied. Click here for steps for removal.
A Building Permit and engineering calculations are REQUIRED when:
We do maintain a copy of Geology & Track files along with Soils Reports.
These copies are only physical copies, therefore they cannot be sent
electronically. Tract Files can be requested with Building & Safety at the
permit counter within Business Hours. Photos can be taken, and “letter”
size paper can have copies made.
Due to the nature of how permit costs are calculated, we are unable to
provide an estimate unless further information is given (i.e.: job valuation,
scope or work, etc.). All our fees are based off of our City-Council-Approved
Fee schedule. Building-Safety-Master-Fee-Schedule-2022
Yes. Any changes to the approved set of plans must be submitted and approved by the appropriate Department(s) and/or other Agencies before construction changes are implemented. You must adhere to the approved plan.
Most residential plans can be drawn by anyone, however commercial and
industrial plans must be prepared by a licensed professional. It is
recommended you obtain design professionals to create the construction
documents. Additional Plan Check fees are required after the 3rd
Submittal, therefore Self-Drawn plans are more likely lead to additional
You cannot live in, sleep in, or rent your garage as a dwelling unit. Agarage is non-habitable and does not meet the minimum coderequirements to be considered a sleeping room. If you are interested inconverting your garage into a dwelling unit, please see our ADUrequirements. To begin the process, please inquire withPlanning@rpvca.Gov
You cannot live in, sleep in, or rent your garage as a dwelling unit. A
garage is non-habitable and does not meet the minimum code
requirements to be considered a sleeping room. If you are interested in
converting your garage into a dwelling unit, please see our ADU
requirements. To begin the process, please inquire with
Construction for commercial and multifamily projects shall be performed
by an appropriately California licensed contractor as required by the
California Business and Professions Code.
Plan Review status can be viewed through our Online Plan Check Portal
plan check portal. Ensure your email is associated with the project so that
you can see whenever there is any change in status. If you do not have
access to the project, please inquire at Buildingsafety@rpvca.gov
In most cases we recommend that you hire a licensed contractor and that they be required to obtain the permit as part of the project agreement. This is simply because the permit holder is the party responsible for the work and complying with the codes and regulations. A reputable contractor should have no problem obtaining a permit. You can verify a contractor's state license and registration by visiting the Contractors State License Board.
Yes. The legal property Owner can apply as an ‘Owner Builder’ and must sign a declaration.
Licensed contractors have provided proof of competency and proof of
insurance to the city. This protects the homeowner from incurring costs
due to damage by uninsured contractors, and it protects the homeowner
from contractors who do not have adequate knowledge of the City
adopted building codes. A permit will not be issued until all contractors
being used to complete the project are licensed. Homeowners doing their
own work do not need to be licensed.
For residential windows, the maximum prescriptive U-factor is 0.32, and
the maximum prescriptive SHGC is 0.23. NOTE: Rancho Palos Verdes is
located in a Sever-High-Fire-Zone. At least One pane of the window needs
to be tempered glass per Chapter 7A of the CBC.
Concrete flatwork on private property does not require a permit. You can
create a patio, replace a driveway, or form a path without a permit. Please
verify with Planning@rpvca.gov regarding the max % of hardscaping
If you are replacing the driveway approach or the sidewalk in front of your
property, an Encroachment Permit is required. This may be obtained with
the Public Works Department
Public Works Permit Technicians
Cheri Bailiff: CheriB@rpvca.gov
Karissa Russell: KRussell@rpvca.gov
Property setbacks are rules that define how close to a property line a
structure may be built. These distances are based on the zoning of your
Property setbacks often exist to improve the visual appeal of a
community. Side yard setbacks are there to keep some light and space
between homes and are generally greater as the lot size increases. Rear
yard setbacks are intended to keep larger green spaces for people to
enjoy their backyards. Learn more about setback requirements by
inquiring with Planning@rpvca.gov or contact 310-544-5287 for more information.
The City Of Rancho Palos Verdes Code Enforcement Division is response
driven. We only open investigations when we receive a formal complaint
from the public. If you are contacted about a code violation, it is response
to a complaint that the City has received about your specific property.
If I want to file a complaint about a neighbor’s property, Can i be
The answer is usually yes. Our procedures strive to maintain the
confidentiality of complainants. You do not have to provide your name
when filing a complaint. However, for the few percent of complaints that
ever evolve to a court action, all information from the case is then
provided to the court.
Please submit a formal complaint to the Code Enforcement Division
through their website: Filling a Compliant- RPV Code Enforcement
Worried the unpermitted work may be releasing Asbestos into the
air? South Coast AQMD has partnered with Cal/OSHA for investigating
Asbestos and Lead complaints. You can contact a Cal/OSHA inspector by
Long Beach Office: 1500 Hughes Way, Suite C-201 Long Beach, CA 90810
For more information please visit their website: Cal/Osha Complaint
Would you like to report the contractor being in violation of the Contractor
Please visit Contractor State License Board website:
If you are not sure where your property line is, or if you and your neighbor
are in disagreement about the location of a common property line, you
may need to hire a land surveyor. It is unlawful for anyone to do land
surveying or offer to do land surveying unless he or she is currently
licensed as a land surveyor in the State of California. The City of Rancho
Palos Verdes does not offer land surveying services to the public. If you’d
like to see an approximate property line location you can speak with
Planning to view the property with the GIS Maps. Property line disputes
can NOT be determined per the GIS maps, only by the determination of a
licensed Land Surveyor. The State of California Board for Professional
Engineers and Land Surveyors also maintains a helpful website should
you find you need a surveyor.
A permit must be obtained to legalize any work completed without
permits. Plans must be made for all work and submitted for review and
approval. Once the permit is issued, the work will be fully inspected to
verify code compliance. Inspectors may require demolition of finishes and
wall coverings to ensure the work matches the approved plans and
complies with current code requirements.
If you are placing a temporary dumpster in front of your property, an
Encroachment Permit is required. This may be obtained with the Public
Works Department : https://www.rpvca.gov/292/Public-Works
Karissa Russell: KRussell@rpvca.gov
Plan Check are good for 6 months or 180 days. If you will be going passed
the 6 month period, you will still be eligible for 2 - 90 day extensions ($82
each extension) If you are unable to receive approval and issuance of the
permit by then, you will need to “reinstate the plan check”. The fees
associated is 1/2 the original plan check fees for both Planning and
Building & Safety. (Municipal Code Section 15.18.050. Subsection 105.3.2)
Permits are good for 18 months. If you will be going passed the 18 month
period, you will still be eligible for 1 - 6 month extension ($82 for the
extension) If you are unable to pass the final inspection within that period,
you will need to “reinstate the permit” The fees associated is 1/2 the
original permitting fees for Building & Safety along with 1/2 the Planning
fees. (Municipal Code Section 15.18.050. Subsection 105.5)
We currently don't offer any expedited plan check options.
Certificates of Occupancy cannot be issued until all permits have received final inspection approval and all City Departments have signed off on their areas of responsibility.
The building codes, as empowered by the State of California Health and Safety codes, are clear that no construction is allowed until the permit is issued. Once the permit application and accompanying plans have been submitted, the Building & Safety division will review and process the plans. Following approval of the plan and payment of fees, a permit will be issued.
A permit is required for residential accessory structures, including non-habitable storage sheds, workshops, gazebos, cabanas, and similar non-habitable structures, greater than 120 square feet in area. Structures 120 square feet or smaller in area may be exempt from building permit requirements. All accessory structures regardless of size must comply with Municipal Code zoning requirements for use, placement on the parcel, and design. If electrical, mechanical, or plumbing work is included as part of the accessory structure, a permit is required regardless of size. For information about the location limitations of residential accessory structures, contact Planning staff at firstname.lastname@example.org or by phone 310-544-5287
You may have a maximum of three (3) Dogs and three (3) Cats.
Depending on the circumstances, Los Angeles Animal Control will be the contact when it comes to barking dogs. Code Enforcement can only regulate the number of dogs & cats on the property.
The current property owner recorded on Title is responsible for all building violations that may exist.
We advise that if there is any demoing of anything on the said property, please contact the Building Division at (310) 544-5280.
To find the approved construction projects in the City, please call the Building Division at (310) 544-5280.
Hours of allowed operation 7:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Hours of allowed operation 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Prohibited except with a Special Construction Permit
The Code Enforcement Division does not obtain or analyze air samples. Residents can contact an independent testing company or laboratory for this service.
The Code Enforcement Division can address the maintenance of the pool causing the breeding of mosquitos. The Los Angeles Vector Control will respond and treat the water with possible mosquitos. Please contact them at (310) 915-7370.
For nuisance noise issues, call the Los Angeles County Sheriff's Department at (310) 539-1661.
Hours of allowed operation 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Trash cans are allowed to be placed at the curb/pickup location at 4:00 p.m. the night before collection and must be removed before 10:00 p.m. the day of collection.
The Property Maintenance Ordinance regulates the storage of certain items in public view. Items such as boxes, tires, trash cans, furniture, and appliances in public view are a violation of the code.
According to the Rancho Palos Verdes Municipal Code, it is unlawful to maintain a property at a variance to the surrounding properties. This means that any vegetation that is overgrown, needs to be trimmed.
Parking regulations on public streets are enforced by the Los Angeles Sheriff Department. The non-emergency line is (310) 539-1661.
The Code Enforcement Division enforces inoperable vehicles on private property. Please call (310) 544-5281.
Front yard parking is not allowed with the exception of:
The driveway, which is defined as a permanently surfaced/paved area providing direct access for vehicles between a street and a permitted off-street parking.
Please refer to RV Parking Regulations page for more information.
A Code Enforcement Officer will contact you to discuss your concerns and answer any questions. We kindly ask to give a minimum of 10 business days after filing a complaint.
The Code Enforcement Division do take anonymous complaints. Our complaint process is confidential. Please not that if the information is incorrect or insufficient, the investigation may be hindered and we will be unable to contact you.
To pay an administrative citation, you may use the following:
City of Rancho Palos Verdes
Planning, Building & Code Enforcement
30940 Hawthorne Blvd.
Rancho Palos Verdes CA, 90275-5391
In accordance with Section 1.16.130 (Request for Administrative Hearing), an individual or business has the right to contest an administrative citation and request an administrative hearing when the individual or business disagrees with the City of Rancho Palos Verdes, Code Enforcement Division action. An individual or business has the right to contest an administrative citation and request an administrative hearing when the individual or business disagrees with the City of Rancho Palos Verdes, Code Enforcement Division action. The following Rancho Palos Verdes municipal codes provide information related to the payment requirement of the administrative fine, how to request an administrative hearing, the time required for the hearing process, and the advance hardship fee waiver deposit required. Enclosed in this packet are the Request for Administrative Hearing form, the Advance Hardship Fee Waiver Deposit form, and Frequently Asked Questions and Answers.
The contestant is responsible for the timely filing of the appeal to request a hearing. The Request for Administrative Hearing form must be completed in its entirety and returned to the Community Development Department of City Hall within 30 days from the date of service of the administrative citation. A separate Request for Administrative Hearing form is required for each citation.
An advance deposit of the total administrative fine for each citation is required at the time of filing. Payment may be in the form of Cash, Check, Cashier’s Check, or Money Order payable to the City of Rancho Palos Verdes. The advance administrative fine deposit shall be refunded if the ruling made by the Hearing Officer rules there was no violation as charged in the Administrative Citation.
Any responsible person who requests a hearing to contest an administrative citation and who is financially unable to deposit the administrative fine required in Section 1.16.120 (Payment of Administrative Fine) may file a request for an advance deposit hardship waiver.
FREQUENT ASKED QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS
Whom do I contact if I have questions or concerns regarding the hearing procedures?
Contact the Code Enforcement Division at (310) 544-5281 or email@example.com to discuss any questions or concerns you may have regarding the contents of this document.
What if my hardship waiver is denied and I want a second opinion?
The decision of the director or the director's designee on whether to issue a hardship waiver shall be final.
What are the steps involved when requesting a hearing?
Step 1: Complete a request for hearing form and return it to the Community Development Department.
Step 2: Either deposit the administrative fine with the Community Development Department or provide a notice that a request for an advance deposit hardship waiver has been filed pursuant to Section 1.16.140 (Advance Hardship Waiver Deposit).
Step 3: The Community Development Department must receive a completed request for hearing form and the administrative fine or completed hardship waiver form pursuant to Section 1.16.140 (Advance Hardship Waiver Deposit) within 30 days from the date of service of the administrative citation. If not, the responsible person waives the right to a hearing.
Step 4: The citing official shall notify the person requesting the hearing by regular mail in accordance with Section 1.16.030 (Procedure for Service) of the time and place of the hearing at least 20 days before the date of the hearing. The citing official shall serve any documentation, other than the administrative citation, that the citing official has submitted or will submit to the hearing officer on the person requesting the hearing by regular mail in accordance with Section 1.16.030 (Procedure for Service) at least ten days before the date of the hearing.
Step 5: Only after a request for hearing form is received by the Community Development Department within the required period, and the responsible person requesting the hearing has either deposited the administrative fine in full or obtained an advance deposit hardship waiver (hereinafter a “perfected appeal”), shall the city set the date and time for the administrative hearing. The hearing shall be set for a date not less than 15 days, nor more than 60 days after the filing of a perfected appeal.
Is there a cost to schedule and/or attend the administrative hearing?
Yes, the administrative hearing officer shall assess against the responsible person administrative costs for any violation found to exist, or for any violation which was not timely corrected. The administrative costs include any and all costs incurred by the city in connection with prosecuting the violation, including, but not limited to, investigation costs, staffing costs for preparing and conducting the administrative hearing, and costs for all inspections necessary to enforce the compliance order and the administrative order. The administrative order shall specify the date by which the costs must be paid to the city.
How soon will the hearing be scheduled?
The hearing shall be set for a date not less than 15 days, nor more than 60 days after the filing of a perfected appeal.
What if I can’t make the hearing and need to reschedule attending the hearing?
The contestant may request one continuance and the city may continue the hearing on its own initiative for good cause. Holding the hearing beyond 30 days of the appeal shall not invalidate the citation.
What happens if I fail to attend the administrative hearing?
If the responsible person fails to attend the scheduled hearing, the hearing will proceed without the responsible person, and the responsible person will be deemed to have waived the right to an administrative hearing and any further appeals as set forth in this chapter.
Who appoints the administrative hearing officer?
Administrative hearing officers shall be selected in a manner that avoids the potential for pecuniary or other bias. In no event shall the administrative hearing officer be the citing official. The compensation, if any, of the administrative hearing officer shall be paid by the city. Compensation shall not be directly or indirectly conditioned upon whether administrative citations are upheld by the administrative hearing officer.
What are the procedures at administrative hearings, and do I need a lawyer or witnesses?
Administrative hearings are informal, and formal rules of evidence and discovery do not apply. Each party shall have the opportunity to present evidence in support of that party's case and to cross-examine witnesses. The city bears the burden of proof at an administrative hearing to establish a violation of the municipal code. The administrative citation and any additional reports submitted by the citing official shall constitute prima facie evidence of the facts contained in those documents. The administrative hearing officer must use the preponderance of evidence as the standard of review in deciding the issues.
Can I appeal the decision of the administrative hearing officer?
Yes, you may appeal the decision of the hearing officer within 20 days after service of the administrative hearing officer's decision upon the responsible person/citee, either the responsible person/citee or the city may seek review of the administrative hearing officer's decision by filing a notice of appeal and paying the appeal fee, if required, set forth in Government Code § 53069.4(b)(2) or its successor with the Los Angeles Superior Court (Southwest District/Torrance). The appealing party shall serve a copy of the notice of appeal either in person or by first-class mail upon the non-appealing party. If either the responsible person/citee or the city fails to timely file a notice of appeal, the administrative order shall be deemed confirmed.
Is there a fee for paying the administrative citation late?
Yes, any person who fails to pay the city on or before the due date any administrative fine imposed pursuant to the provisions of this chapter shall be liable for the payment of late payment charges as follows:
Can the city place a lean on my property for unpaid fines?
Yes, in accordance with Section 1.16.230 (Collection of administrative fines and costs-Lien Procedures).
Please meet with the Code Enforcement Officer who issued the Notice of Violation to discuss your concerns.
Unfortunately, short-term rentals are prohibited in single-family and multi-family residential zoning districts.
Voter Registration forms are available at: Los Angeles County Clerk-Registrar/Recorder’s Office website (www.lavote.net); California Secretary of State’s Office website (www.sos.ca.gov); or post offices and local libraries.
The City’s next General Municipal Election will be held on Tuesday, November 3, 2020, with two (2) seats available on the City Council, each with a full term of fours years. On November 15, 2016 City Council adopted Ordinance No. 591 to change the General Municipal Election dates to coincide with the Statewide General Elections held in November of even-numbered years.
The General Municipal Election, previously scheduled for November 3, 2020, has been canceled.On June 2, 2020, the City Council called for the General Municipal Election to be held for the election of two members of City Council. The nomination period began on July 13th and ended on August 7th, with only two candidates nominated – incumbents Mayor Cruikshank and Mayor Pro Tem Alegria, for the two open seats.Per Elections Code 10229, when this occurs, the local agency (City Council) is authorized to appoint to each office those nominated as though they were elected at a municipal election. This appointment also causes the previously scheduled election to be canceled and yields an approximate savings of over $100K to the City’s budget. The City Clerk has also been directed to not accept for filing any statement of a write in candidate which is submitted after the appointments are made.During the August 18, 2020, City Council meeting, the City Council appointed John Cruikshank and Eric Alegria to take office and serve exactly as though elected at a municipal election for a full term of four years. They will be sworn into office during the December 1st Regular City Council meeting.Agenda Report from August 18, 2020 Consideration and possible action to appoint persons nominated for Members of the City Council and cancel the General Municipal Election scheduled for November 3, 2020.Resolution 2020-48 Cancellation of the November 3, 2020 General Municipal Election and Appointments to Office
Voters who wish to vote by mail must submit a written request to the Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk. Printed Vote by Mail Applications can also be found on the back cover page of your Official Sample Ballot booklet. Your written request must identify the election for which a ballot is being requested, and must contain the voter’s name and signature, registered address, and the address to which the ballot should be mailed. The signature of each person requesting a vote by mail ballot is required in order to verify the legitimacy of the application. If you will be unable to vote in person on Election Day, please visit the Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk’s website by clicking the link below to complete and sign the application for a vote by mail ballot. Return the application to: Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk P.O. Box 30450 Los Angeles, Ca 90030-0450
Any registered voter may become a Permanent Vote by Mail voter. As a permanent vote by mail voter, you will no longer have to apply for future elections. A ballot will automatically be mailed to you for each election in which you are eligible to vote. A voter’s name shall be deleted from the permanent Vote by Mail voter list if he or she fails to return a Vote by Mail ballot for four consecutive statewide general elections. You may request an application for Permanent Vote By Mail status by calling (562) 466-1323 or by visiting the Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk’s website by clicking the link below to complete and sign the application for Permanent Vote By Mail status. Return the application to: Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk P.O. Box 30450 Los Angeles, CA 90030-0450
There are three easy ways to become a Permanent Vote by Mail voter:
Download and complete the Request to Cancel Permanent Vote by Mail Status Application. You can also request an application by calling 1 (800) 815-2666 Option #2.
Return your completed signed application by one of the following methods:
Fax: (562) 864-6786
Email: firstname.lastname@example.orgMail application to:
Registrar-Recorder/County ClerkP.O. Box 30450Los Angeles, CA 90030-0450
In addition to the impressive emergency resources provided by the County, the City is very fortunate to have several volunteer civilian response teams that assist our first responders and our community during an emergency or disaster. These organizations include the Rancho Palos Verdes Neighborhood Watch, Palos Verdes Peninsula Community Emergency Response Team PVPCERT), Peninsula Volunteer Alert Network (PVAN): For more information, visit this page: https://www.rpvca.gov/826/Volunteer
One of the city’s primary responsibilities to its citizens is to provide for the maximum protection of life and property from both natural and man-made hazards and disasters. In July of 2008, the city council unanimously approved Resolution No. 2008-61 for the creation of a Emergency Preparedness Committee with this goal in mind. This new city advisory board, which consists of 7 resident volunteers appointed by the city council, has been charged with the mission to advise and make recommendations to the City Council on matters pertaining to emergency preparedness to help ensure that the City of Rancho Palos Verdes develops and maintains a high state of readiness to respond to a wide variety of emergencies and disasters."
The Emergency Preparedness Committee holds evening meetings as required, generally on the 3rd Thursday of each month at 7 p.m. in the Community Room at City Hall.
If you have questions, or would like the Emergency Preparedness Committee to make an emergency preparedness presentation to your group or organization, please email the Emergency Preparedness Committee.
Notwithstanding the foregoing, within 120 feet of any property line abutting a Residential Zoning District, no construction or grading, including grading operations to prepare sites for earth interments, shall occur before 9:00 a.m. or after 3:30 p.m. All equipment shall be equipped with a muffler to reduce on-site grading and construction noise levels.
Letter from Bolton Engineering
For excessive noise or other activities that results in impacts, Green Hills Cemetery security may be reached at (310) 995-7006 from 4pm-9:30pm.
In January 2013, Green Hills submitted plans reflecting an overall building height of 22.5’, with a datum point of 322.5’ to the top of the parapet. A silhouette was installed depicting the proposed building envelope, including its height. A silhouette certification was submitted ensuring that the silhouette reflected the submitted plans (see attachment below).
In April 2013, the Planning Division approved the plans and subsequently another set of plans with revisions to the grading and no changes to the building height in November 2013. Green Hills were granted a Building Permit and construction began. In August and September 2015, building height certifications prepared by a licensed surveyor were submitted by Green Hills certifying the parapet wall at a height of 322.5’ (see attachment below). Inspiration Slope Silhouette & Bldg Certifications
Areas 5 and 6 are approved to be used for stockpiling of soil while other parts of the cemetery are developed/improved over time. As earth is placed and removed from the area, it is inevitable that the grades will continuously change.
It should be noted that the Master Plan shows future mausoleum buildings in the west half of this area. For future development applications for these mausoleum buildings, the baseline grades will be based on the 2011 topographic survey filed with the City. Any improvements in this area will be subject to review with opportunities for public input.
As the most recent Annual Review was conducted on January 31, 2017, the next Annual Review is anticipated to be conducted by the City Council in January 2018.
At least 10 working days should be allowed for initial plan review, with 5 days allowed for subsequent reviews if needed. Once plan approvals are completed, the permit can be issued in one visit if all the paperwork is correct. Click to see the Public Works Permit Fees.
Parking permits can be obtained at the Public Works counter. More information on parking permit programs can be found in the following page:
The city’s volunteer docent organization, Los Serenos de Point Vicente, conducts hikes within the Forrestal Nature Preserve, along the public trails at Trump national, and at the tide pools at Abalone Cove Beach. For information or to schedule a docent-led hike please email email@example.com
Hikes should be scheduled at lest 6 weeks in advance.
Another excellent source for hikes and trail information is the Palos Verdes Peninsula Land Conservancy. Call 310-541-7613 or visit the organization's website:
The Pacific gray whales' annual migration season from the frigid waters of the Arctic seas to the warm lagoons of Baja, California, can be seen from the Point Vicente Interpretive Center from December through April. The Interpretive Center is a premier whale-watching site. It is open to the public daily from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m., and the park grounds are open 9 a.m. until dusk.
Another ideal location is Pelican Cove, located between the Point Vicente Lighthouse and Long Point (formerly Marineland, now called Terranea Resort).
Commercial whale watch boats offer an up-close look at whales. For Redondo Sports Fishing in Redondo Beach, call 310-372-2111 or for 22nd Street Landing in San Pedro, call 310-832-8304. Also, visit the Cabrillo Marine Aquarium in San Pedro to learn more about the whales, or call the aquarium at 310-548-7562.
The United States Coast Guard operates the Point Vicente Lighthouse. Monthly Open Tours at Point Vicente Lighthouse are currently suspended due to U.S. Cost Guard COVID-19 Protocols.